Tezpur can be described as the cultural capital of Assam. Every landscape of Tezpur reflects its rich cultural heritage since time immemorial. Tezpur was a cradle to three doyens of Assamese Culture: Rupkonwar Jyotiprasad Agarwala, Kalaguru Bishnu Prasad Rava, and Natasurya Phani Sarma.

Sonitpur, like the rest of the nation, witnessed the amalgamation of different cultures of different peoples at different times. Along with the natural evolution of the indigenous Assamese culture, several cultural traits of different subsequent groups which were assimilated in it added to its lustre and bounty.

             Literature     |     Fairs and Festivals   |   Cultural Institutions    |   Clubs 



The Sonitpur District can be proud to serve as the home of a large number of literary geniuses. A few noted ones are named here along with a short description of their works.

Rupkonwar Jyoti Prasad Agarwala (1903-51)

His works :-

Dramas :             1. SONIT KUWARI.
                               2. KARENGHARAR  LIGIRI.
                               3. LOVITA
                               4. RUPALEEM

                          Films :                  1. JOIMOTI.
                                                         2. INDRA MALATI.

                         Famous Poems :
                                                          1.ASOMIA DEKAR UKTI
                                                         2.KANCHAN JANGHAR BURANJI

                        Famous Songs :      1. GASE GASE PATI DILE.
                                                             2. BISWA BIJOYEE NOJOWAN etc.

Kalaguru Bishnu Prasad Rava (1909-69)

He was also a versatile genius. He was a writer, a painter, a musician, a poet, and a football-player. For his extra-ordinary artistic calibre, people regard him as the "Kalaguru".

Natasurya Phani Sarma (1909-70)

He was a great dramatist and had written many immortal dramas like "SIRAJ", "KIO", "EMUTHI", " BHOGJARA", "NAG PAAS" etc. His style of acting is a subject of research for the actors of the new generation.

Lakhidhar Sarma

His famous work is " SIRAJ"( the drama depicting the unity of the two communities,  Hindu & Muslim).

Agnikavi Kamalakanta Bhattacharjee (1854-1936)

     His works include -  "CHINTANAL", "CHINTA TARANGA" collection                       
                                                 of   poems.

Ananda Chandra Agarwala (1874-1939)

Apart from his own collection of poems he translated many English poems. He was President of Assam Sahitya Sabha, Mangaldoi in 1934.

"Jeevan Sangeet" is one of his poem.

Padmanath Gohain Baruah (1871-1946)

He was the 1st President of Assam Sahitya Sabha.

Dandinath Kalita (1890-1955)

A noted writer. His works included :-

SANSKRIT NATAKAR JANMA, GANA BIPLAB, BIR CHILARAI  are some of his great creations.
Go top


The people of Sonitpur district celebrate Bihu, Durga Puja, Idd, Christmas, Bathou Puja, Chat Puja etc. like other people of Assam.

The following festivals are unique to Sonitpur district -

Bare Shaharia Bhaona

Generally the term Bhaona in Assamese means a cultural activity involving dramas, depicting the various stories taken from the epics. These dramas were mostly written by Sankardeva and Madhabdeva. 

Bare Shaharia Bhaona  of  Jamuguri (50 kms from Tezpur) is a unique form of Bhaona. Twelve or more  Bhaonas  are performed simultaneously in different stages built on a single platform. 

Sivaratri Fair

It is held at Mahabhairab Temple (Tezpur), Halleswar Temple (Halleswar), Singri Temple (Dhekiajuli), Biswanath Temple (Biswanath Ghat), Kalyani Temple (Gohpur).

Balichar Festival

The festival is organised by the District Administration at a river island on the Brahmaputra River in the month of November. It is observed for five months from November to March. Food festivals and cultural programmes are its unique features.


                                                                                                                       Go top

                                                 CULTURAL INSTITUTIONS

  There are a number of cultural institutions in the District. Important among them are:

           Ban Theatre, Tezpur

The first modern Assamese theatre hall, the Ban Theatre, was established in the year 1906.   Many of the great modern Assamese dramas of Rupkonwar Jyoti Prasad Agarwala and Natasurya Phani Sarma, were first staged here. The tradition continues till today.

Tarun Asom Sangha, Tezpur

The Tarun Asom Sangha is situated in the heart of Tezpur city. It is a historic cultural and sports club. It was established in the year 1930 by Lakhidhar Sarma. In 1951 the new building was built.

Jyoti Bharati,Tezpur

Jyoti Bharati is situated at Poki, the ancestral home of Rupkonwar Jyoti Prasad Agarwala. That home was taken over by the Government of Assam in the year 1977, and Jyoti Bharati was established under the Directorate of Cultural Affairs. It is a centre of cultural excellence.

Jonaki Cinema Hall, Tezpur

It is the first cinema hall to be established anywhere in Assam. It was established by Rupkonwar Jyoti Prasad Agarwala. It was set up to screen the first Assamese feature film Joymati in circa 1940.

Hem Baruah Hall

It was established by Haribilas Agarwala, Lakshikanta Borkataki, Joydeb Sarma Pandit in the heart of the city. Earlier it was known as Central Hall or Town Hall.

Jyoti Kala Kendra Sangeet Mahavidyalaya

It is a  music and dance college, imparting education in the various Indian classical vocal and instrumental music and dance.

Estantic Club

It is a club situated at Sootea (60 kms from Tezpur), involved in promotion of drama and other such cultural activities.


The  important Satras of Sonitpur are :









                                                                                   Go top


British left behind a rich colonial legacy in form of various clubs. These clubs are basically patronized by  tea planters. The clubs have active participation from tea planters and other prominent citizens.  There are five such clubs. 

           1.  Tezpur Station Club,                        2. Borsola Gymkhana Club
                Opposite DC Office                                  P.O.- Panbari
                                                                                  3. Thakurbari Club

                                    4. Biswanath Gymkhana Club 
                                    5. East Boroi Club
                                        P.O.-Helem-784104 .   

                                                                                                                       Go top

Administration|Govt. Establishment|At a Glance|Tezpur Town|Telephone Index|Photo Album

Site is designed & developed by   National Informatics Centre Sonitpur District Unit, Tezpur, Assam, India
                                               Information provided by District Administration,Sonitpur.
Copy right (c)2002 , NIC, Sonitpur. All rights reserved

   For any suggestions or comments please write to